The ambition of the European Digital Student Service Infrastructure (EDSSI) project is to create an IT infrastructure that connects the Erasmus+ Higher Education mobility programme to the digital single market of the EU. 

The infrastructure leverages the Once Only Principle so that higher education students and staff are able to authenticate themselves and access all mobility services and information available with a single login and regardless of their geographical location. Thus, the project strengthens inclusivity and contributes substantially to the delivery of the European Education Area1. 

The EDSSI will spread the usage of eIDAS enabled eIDs in the European Education Area.  Henceforth, the project will contribute to the common European data spaces and the CEF Telecom objectives by supporting enhanced connections and reliable data exchanges among higher education institutions and third-party student service providers. 

The new system is fully aligned with the goals set for the European Education Area, such as the European Universities and the European Student Card Initiative. Also, it contributes and builds upon a wide array of HE mobility digitisation initiatives, such as the MyAcademicID, Erasmus  Without Paper, European Student Card project, EMREX or Erasmus+ App projects. 

The project is funded under the European Commission’s Connecting Europe Facility programme under grant agreement no. LC-01560120 CEF-TC-2019-4-001.

Read more on the official website:



  • Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
  • Centre National des Oeuvres Universitaires et Scolaires
  • Géant Vereniging
  • Vetenskapsradet
  • Universiteit Gent
  • Erasmus Student Network
  • Universidade do Porto
  • UniwersytetWarszawski
  • Humboldt-Universitaet zu Berlin
  • Unit – direktoratet for ikt og fellestjenester i hoyere utdanning og forskning
  • Universidad de Malaga
  • Fondazione endisu ente nazionale per il diritto allo studio e per i servizi agli studenti
  • Deutsches Studentenwerk
  • Universitat Jaume i de Castelló
  • RENATER France
  • European University Foundation